Loving the simple things

Ever since I was a little kid, I have always found beauty and happiness in simple things. My mom tells me of how when I was a baby, I would spend hours playing with a single feather. I would wrap it around one finger, unravel it, then wrap it around another finger, no doubt reveling in the soft feeling and curious shape.

When I was in kindergarten, we lived in a pretty poor area with no parks nearby, but there was an empty, abandoned-looking parking lot near my house where I spent a lot of time riding my bike, being careful not to puncture the wheels on the jagged rocks and pieces of broken concrete that were scattered throughout the lot. Our backyard was very small, but large enough for a plot of tulips and I was absolutely fascinated with them, spending large amounts of time observing, smelling, and painting them.

When I was in first grade we moved to an apartment complex where in the middle of it there was a pretty large field. I remember when I first saw it I was completely amazed at the stretch of beautiful green that sprawled before my eyes. I fell in love with it right then and there, and the majority of my childhood was spent wandering around that big field, looking at the marvelous things that grew or lay on the ground, off in my own world.

Simple things, like a pretty dandelion or a cool stick or seeing a bee flying from flower to flower, made me happy. In the wintertime I would scour the field for pieces of ice that formed in the little depressions of the earth and bring them back to my house, marveling at their transparent nature. A field may not have as many interesting things as a forest or swamp, but for me it was a wonderful, magical place. I never felt alone or bored – all around me were intriguing plants and animals that felt like friends.

Simple things continue to make me happy even now. Whenever there is a problem, there is also a cup of tea. Whenever there is an argument with a friend, there is also a walk in the woods. Bees, flowers, things that have delightful colors, shapes, and textures continue to draw my eyes, and little beauties like a vibrant fall leaf never fail to lighten my mind.

Simple, wonderful, beautiful, comforting things are all around us – they just have to be noticed. šŸ™‚

(Note: The picture at the top is one that I took during autumn in the woods by my house. :))

via Daily Prompt: Simple

Leave a Reply

