Clean even when covered in dirt

As I reach down to free the flowers
My hands put on a coat of dirt
But the weeds have been intercepted
And so my cleanliness is not hurt

As worms wiggle through my fingers
And spiders scramble across my feet
As beetles flirt with my phalanges
My cleanliness is still complete

The dust may fly into my eyes
Or tickle the insides of my ears
It may even venture up my nose
But my cleanliness won’t disappear

Because being clean is more than surface
Dust and dirt have no effect
On whether your heart is unpolluted
And if you can look at yourself with self-respect

 


via Daily Prompt: Clean

(Side note: The roses in the picture are mine and I very much enjoyed trimming them and helping them grow this past summer. :))

Leave a Reply

