Valentine’s Expectations

The picture at the top is the Cake of Love (my name for it lol) that my boyfriend and I made this weekend.

The picture here is what it was supposed to look like:

91cqcx7gf1l-_sx355_

Clearly, there is a bit of a difference. ๐Ÿ˜‰

We originally bought the cake mix a year ago as a matter of fact, but kept forgetting to actually make the cake. For an entire year somehow. Then, this past weekend, when my boyfriend drove down to see me for our own Valentine’s weekend, he brought the cake with him, determined to finally make it. Which turned out to be perfect as it was about to expire.

The cake took more effort than was expected since we couldn’t find the two attachable beaters for the electric mixer, and thus had to use a whisk. Both the cake mix and the glaze had to be whisked up separately, so we got quite an arm workout.

At last came the moment where I poured the glaze over the cake, which cooled much faster than I expected. Cooling made the the glaze more goopy than liquid, and the last bit of it formed funny deformed lumps on the cake. Although our cake doesn’t look like the perfect cake on the box, it is a cake that my boyfriend and I had made together and so to me it is splendid. ๐Ÿ™‚

Sometimes things don’t turn out how you expected, but they can still be yummy. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

via Daily Prompt: Expectation

Leave a Reply

