Job rejection

I am searching for a job right now, and the other day I found out that I didn’t get the job I was certain I would get. It’s left me feeling confused mostly, because I firmly believe that I was more than qualified for that position, which is not a feeling I often have.

I often doubt my abilities, my skills, even after all the positive feedback I’ve received from my past employers. When getting complimented I would think “Oh, they’re exaggerating” even when it was clear they were being genuine. So I am not the type of person to believe they are going get every job they apply for or that they are always “the best candidate for the position.”

That’s why, this rejection is all the more frustrating for me, because I was positive I was a great fit for the job when usually I don’t feel this way. I had an interview and I thought it went great; I provided full, elaborate answers, I affirmed that I would be able to comply with the traveling and other job requirements, I was friendly and cordial and thanked the interviewer at the end of the interview. Unfortunately, the person I was speaking to was not the one doing the hiring (it was a phone interview), they were only transcribing my answers and I worry that what had happened was that parts of my answers might’ve gotten lost in their transcription, as they admitted they were a slow typist.

What is frustrating to me is that there no one for me to contact to ask why I was not selected, as the person who interviewed me had nothing to do with the hiring process and the email that was sent which said I was not selected for the job states at the bottom not to reply to it. This is very frustrating to me because more than being upset that I did not get the job, I would just like to know why I was not selected.

Unfortunately it seems I will not get an answer to this question, and in the meantime I have to keep applying. If you read all this, thank you, and please let me know if you’ve had a similar experience because I would very much appreciate other people’s thoughts on this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

